What to Do if You’re Hit by an Uninsured Motorist
No one wants to be involved in a car accident. Unfortunately, accidents are going to occur. Thankfully, most drivers in Minnesota have automobile insurance to help cover the costs of these incidents, and uninsured driving is on the decline in the state. Minnesota operates under a “no-fault” insurance system in which drivers turn to their own personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for initial medical expenses, regardless of which party is at fault. Drivers can also file third-party claims in the event the crash meets certain monetary or disability thresholds.
Thankfully, Minnesota drivers are also required to carry uninsured motorist coverage in the event they get struck by a driver who does not have insurance. However, you need to know what to do if you are struck by an uninsured motorist in Minnesota.
Get a Police Report
The most important thing you can do in the aftermath of any vehicle accident is to seek medical assistance as soon as possible. This could include taking an ambulance to the hospital if your injuries are severe or going to the closest emergency room. It is very important that you make sure the police are called to the scene of the crash.
Law enforcement officials will conduct a preliminary investigation of the incident, and they will be responsible for gathering all drivers’ insurance information. You can be sure that if the other driver does not have insurance, that will be noted in the report. In fact, it is very likely that an uninsured driver will be given a citation by police for not having insurance.
The police report will be one of the main factors that your insurance carrier will use when determining whether or not they will pay a claim under your uninsured motorist policy.
Take Photos & Gather Information
If you are able to safely do so at the scene of the crash, use your smartphone or another type of camera to take pictures of everything. This includes damages to the vehicles, injuries, debris lying around the accident, causes of the crash, traffic conditions, weather conditions, and more.
Additionally, you should get the names and contact information of any eyewitnesses to the crash. Finally, speak to the other drivers involved, if possible, and get their names, driver’s license number, and insurance policy number. If the other drivers do not want to give over this information or appeared to be hostile, make sure law enforcement officials are on the way to the crash so they can do that for you.
Check Your Own Insurance Coverage
Minnesota law requires that drivers carry the following types of minimum coverage to remain legal on the road:
- Bodily injury liability: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $10,000
- Personal injury protection (PIP): $40,000
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Check your policy to see how much uninsured motorist coverage you have in the event you are struck by a driver with no insurance. If you have insurance in Minnesota, you will have at least the minimum mentioned above. However, it is recommended that drivers consider purchasing additional uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
Get Help from a Minnesota Car Accident Lawyer
If you or somebody you love is struck by an uninsured motorist, it may be necessary to seek assistance from a Minnesota car crash attorney to help with your case. An attorney will have the legal knowledge and resources available to conduct a full investigation into your case and help determine liability. Your attorney will be able to handle all communication with insurance carriers and negotiate a fair settlement for your accident-related expenses.