- About Us
- Our Team
- Practice Areas
- Case Results
- Contact Us
One moment you’re out celebrating the weekend with your friends, the next moment you’re getting arrested for a DWI. Minnesota police officers are always on the lookout for DWI offenders. It’s understandable considering that out of the 361 car-crash fatalities in 2014, 24% of them were related to drunk driving.
Our law enforcement is trained to spot signs of a drunk driver, and if they even suspect you might be driving under the influence, they will pull you over and attempt to arrest you. Whether the arrest was legitimate or not, you will still have to deal with the consequences of a DWI in the meantime. That means finding an experienced attorney who will work with you and try to have your charges reduced or dropped.
From the moment you’re pulled over to the moment you’re brought into court, your actions will have an effect on the outcome of your case. Did you know that refusing to take a breathalyzer test will result in a separate set of charges? Every time you refuse a breathalyzer test, you automatically lose your license for a year. This charge is on top of your other DWI charges, meaning you could potentially lose your license for a very long time.
Furthermore, some DWI charges can also lead to jail time. While there is no minimum jail time required for a first offense, that’s not to say you won’t be sentenced to any jail time. This will largely depend on the nature of the charge, your attorney, and your own behavior. Second and third DWI offenses carry minimum jail sentences of 30 and 90 days, respectively. Bear in mind that this is the minimum, not the maximum; therefore, it’s critical to work with an attorney who will strengthen your case and keep sentences (if found guilty) to an absolute minimum.
DWI charges can have a significant and lasting effect on your life for years to come. Not only do you run the risk of having your license revoked, but you may also face trouble with your credit, insurance rates, and even your job. As if that isn’t enough, you also face the following possible penalties for a first offense:
Obviously, the penalties are more severe for additional DWI charges. A 4th offense can land you in jail for up to 7 years, with thousands of dollars in fines. Additionally, there are other exacerbating factors, such has having a significant blood-alcohol percentage, or having a minor in the vehicle. Regardless of your individual situation, your attorney’s job is to consolidate or reduce as many of the charges as possible and attempt to have your case dismissed completely. If you are found guilty and sentenced, your attorney will advocate for the most minimal sentencing possible.
There are several ways your attorney will attempt to reduce your charges. By looking at the circumstances surrounding the arrest and how it was carried out, your attorney may be able to find evidence suggesting a false or invalid arrest. He or she will also collect evidence that could lessen or dismiss your charges or sentencing. There are a lot of moving parts in a DWI case, and it’s your attorney’s job to orchestrate those parts to move in your favor as much as possible.
At Knutson+Casey Law Firm in Mankato, Minnesota, we have worked on a great number of DWI cases. We have years of experience in DWI/DUI defense, and we provide effective representation for first and multiple DUI offenders. Regardless of the charges or the situation, we believe everyone has a right to a skilled and compassionate defense attorney. Contact us today to begin building your case.