Does a No-Fault Accident Go on Your Record?
Accidents happen. Most drivers in Minnesota will be involved in an accident at some point in their driving careers, but this does not necessarily mean they are bad drivers. In Minnesota, we operate under what is called a “no-fault” system, which can be confusing for many people. Here, we want to discuss whether or not a no-fault vehicle accident will go on your record.
What is No-Fault?
There are currently around a dozen states in the US that operate under a “no-fault” car insurance system for vehicle accidents. Minnesota is one of the states that use the no-fault system.
Under this system, drivers will turn to their own insurance carrier to recover compensation for their injuries and property damage after the crash, regardless of which party caused the incident. This differs from a fault-based system in which the at-fault driver will be responsible for covering the injury and property damage expenses of the other party involved.
How Will a No-Fault Accident Affect Your Record?
Yes, a no-fault vehicle accident will indeed go on your driving record. For example, if you are rear-ended by another driver at a stop sign, and your vehicle sustains significant damage, you will need to contact your own insurance company and file a claim to get reimbursed for these costs.
Because you filed a claim and obtained compensation from your insurance carrier for this claim, it will appear on your driving record, even though you were not at fault for the incident.
In general, car insurance claims remain on your record for approximately three to five years after the incident occurs. However, the length of time that an accident stays on your record typically depends on the severity of the accident and the state that you live in.
Minnesota’s Comparative Negligence Rule
Even though the no-fault statute will apply to most car accident claims in Minnesota, it may still be possible to file a claim against an at-fault driver’s insurance carrier. Minnesota law allows for a person to pursue a claim against the other driver if there was more than $4,000 in medical expenses, if there was a permanent injury, if there was scarring or disfigurement, or if the victim was disabled for 60 days or more following the crash.
In these cases, everybody involved will need to be aware of Minnesota’s comparative negligence rule. Under Minnesota law, an injury victim can recover compensation for an incident so long as they were not 50% or more responsible for the crash. However, the total amount of compensation they receive will be reduced based on their percentage of fault.
Injured? Contact a Mankato Car Accident Attorney
If you or somebody you care about has been injured in a car accident in or around Mankato, contact the team at Knutson+Casey for help today. Our dedicated and experienced lawyers will use their resources to conduct a complete investigation into the case and ensure that you receive the compensation you are entitled to. We will work to help you whether or not you are filing a no-fault claim or pursuing compensation against another party. If you need a Mankato car accident attorney, contact us right away for your free consultation.